Brides & Gowns

Image

Credits to Pinterest and google

The weekend passed by in a flash, I’m sure that’s the same sentiments from alot of you and right now I’m coping with pre-monday blues. This weekend was a busy one with no sewing being done (boo!). There was a luncheon I attended this afternoon and for the whole of yesterday, me and the fiance visited some bridal shops (yes, time to get that going). I realized to my horror, I’m actually quite behind time if I wanted a made to measure gown and have it in time for my wedding shoot. So that means, I need to quicken my pace in making decisions.

Though I’m an amateur sewist, I would like to think that I have some knowledge in the cuts and fabrics, however when I stepped into the bridal shop and looking at the various cuts and fabric I was totally thrown off.

What I’ve learnt:

Ballgown – Full skirted gown, floor length and full of pleats. Adding the can-can can maximize the size of the skirt. Totally princessy and dreamy.

A Line – From A line to full circle A line. Totally exudes elegance. The only limitation would perhaps be that if I decide to put the can-can in the shape of the dress would still be an A line.

Empire Cut, bustier top cut at waist

Fabric:

Image Duchess Satin – This material is luxurious, heavy and definitely lustrous. It is made of silk fibers and typically satin has very high tread counts. I can just imagine a wedding gown with a train in this material.

ImageOrganza – Sheer, thin and light weighted material. It is probably made of silk, polyester and nylon mix. Using this fabric usually creates a light weighted dreamy look.

ImageTulle – What the bridal consultant told me was that I’ve expensive taste because tulle is considered expensive in Singapore. I am totally in love with this material as it creates a very princessy look and it is so structured. Tulle is very light weighted as well and can be made of a mix of various materials including silk. However it has a much softer feel than organza.

Image Lace – Another of my favorite. Lace is always dreamy and extremely expensive especially if it is going to be Chantilly lace. Lace is well known for it’s pattern and could be hand-stitched on which makes it so special.

Time to browse for more inspiration and doing my homework before making my decision and discussing patterns and design with the designer.

Have a good week ahead all. I hope to get some sewing done this week.

all fabric photos are credit to google

Leave a Reply

