Me-Made-May 2015 is here!

Me-Made-May-15
Photo

I first heard about Me-Made-May 2 years ago in 2013 and boy was I excited! But that was way past May and probably the first time I’ve discovered the world of MMM, much like Alice spiraling down the rabbit hole.

So I made a mental note that I will endeavor to participate in 2014 and so the buzzy bee in me went to work as I sewed and sewed and sewed. Then I got all busy planning for the wedding and by the time May 2014 came along, I was pregnant. Ohhh! Imagine the bummer I felt knowing that I could no longer fit into almost half of what I made. That’s the thing with sewing; you have the power to sew a fitted bodice that can accentuate your body. Yea.. boo.. so no me-made-may for me in 2014.

Then on 1 April, I squealed in excitement to the mister as Zoe announced MMM 2015 (read all about it here). “I must take part in this year’s challenge, no matter what” was what I said to the mister. He looked at me funnily and must have thought I’ve gone crazy. And I proceeded to cook up plans and gave it a lot of thought of what my pledge should be.

I like what Zoe said, that there isn’t a need and MMM is not about panic sewing and I should set reasonable and attainable goals. 1 year ago, I would have made the pledge to wear at least 1 handmade item each day for the entire month. But after consulting my wardrobe and 5 months after having the baby, I realized that there are limited items I have in my wardrobe that can qualify! Let’s be honest, my body post-baby is not the same anymore. I have this squishy tummy that I’m working on and so I no longer enjoy wearing fitted clothes because of that.

After thinking long and hard, I’ve decided on my pledge:

‘I, Adeline of Adesays.wordpress.com sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’15. I endeavour to sew 4 staple wardrobe items and wear as many handmade items for the month of May.’

Hopefully through this challenge, I’ll be able to 1) sew staples to wear for my post-baby body and 2) find time to sew (this is especially hard when you have a full time job and a 5 months old, I barely even have time to sleep! zzz)

To keep myself motivated and accountable to this challenge that I’ve just set, I’m going to document this challenge via this blog and my instagram (www.instagram.com/adesays)!

Now it’s time for me to run off, brew some tea and hatch some plans.

4 thoughts on “Me-Made-May 2015 is here!

  1. Pingback: Me-Made-May 2016: Count me in!

Leave a Reply

