Beginner’s Pattern: The A Line Skirt

Front_ViewLike most beginners, the first garment that I made was the A line skirt. This is also the first garment I’ve learnt to draft without the need to use ready patterns.

An A line skirt has proved to be really versatile in my wardrobe and it’s one of my go to pieces for a fuss free look. It’s simple to pair and a pattern so useful I can use it over and over again. Attach it to a bodice and I’ll get a dress or I’ll explore the use of different fabric for various looks.

Back_View

This A line skirt is made up of 2 pieces of some sort of chiffon material, has 2 front darts, fully lined and a back zipper. It’s frilly and girly for a casual look.

Fabric

Hem Hem2

I’m not sure if there are anyone who will be interested in a tutorial on drafting an A line skirt and I’m pretty sure there are some other blogs out there that has a tutorial on it. But if anyone is interested to know how I drafted mine, do let me know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

