Thoughts On…

IMG_5226

December being one of my favourite month and one month away from the New Year is always a good time for reflections.

It’s with God’s grace that there is much for me to be thankful for this year. To God be the glory!

Sewing. I’ve always been ambitious in my makes and am a procrastinator, there is always something I’ll want to make or do and sometimes things just don’t get completed. However, I’m thrilled to say that I’ve completed most of my UFOs (un-finished projects) this year. Through that, I’ve learnt a lot and faced some of my fears (i.e. hand-stitching a hem). Sewing alone isn’t always fun, but when there is a community so much gets done and the joy of being able to understand each other. I’m constantly inspired and motivated by other sewists and the things they make. I can’t wait to participate more in this community.

Momma-hood. Motherhood is tough! As cliché as that may sound, it’s true. Becoming a mom has got to be the most significant role for me. I strive for perfection and am constantly googling and reading up just so that I can be a great mom. But I’ve come to realize that the pursuit for perfection is futile. I’ve always known that this job is not easy but I’ve never realized that boy was it really so hard especially when you know that the life of a little person depends solely on you. The past months has been stressful, from the millions of advice, thoughts, comments etc that people dish out to me to making me wonder and self-doubt if I am doing things right and if I have my little’s one best interest. But one day I woke up and told myself “you know what, I am just going to do my best, and I’m not perfect” and now I go by the fact that no 2 babies are the same and similarly there’s no perfect parenting model. We just have to learn as we go. So the next time when someone frowns at why I’m not latching my baby on but expressing breast milk, I’m not going to crumble inside and think that I must not be doing things right.

Writing. I’ve always been a closet geek (geek at heart) so it’s not surprising when the mister calls me the bookworm. Initially when I started this blog, all I wanted to do was document some of my crafts and to celebrate the DIY spirit. Being in the office and working from a cube, I needed a creative outlet and this was it. Then, I found great people online who love sewing as much, if not even more than me and I found myself wanting to participate more in this community and so I began writing more. I had no idea if anyone was going to be interested in the things I wanted to say or if things I did say was interesting at all. But I’m really grateful to all the encouragement I’ve received and this just makes me want to do better in 2015.

Looking forward. In general, 2014 has been a great year for me. It was a year of changes and big milestones and I am thankful for all the people who stood by me. I am especially thankful to the mister who has been by my side through every up and down. And also my family and friends (including new friendships forged).

2015 is going to be just as exciting and I’ve thought about where this blog is headed in the New Year, will save that for another post.

Meanwhile, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year friends.

Happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

