Why are Sergers scary?

Sewingmachine

Vintage sewing machine at my grams which I still goes to used once in awhile. Classic..

At the start of the year I was ambitious. I wanted to be like many fellow sewists who can whip up just about anything every week. I found that extremely inspiring but that wasn’t the case for me. It’s about the process, patience and learning new things along the way be it through experiences of fellow sewists or experiences from my own trial and errors. While the end product is something I look forward to every single time but in order for perfection some things can’t be rushed. What’s really important through this process is for me to challenge my fears and overcome them (like the zip monster). Why should anyone have fears when they sew, shouldn’t it be enjoyable? Yes, it is enjoyable but when people says practice makes perfect, it IS true. It IS about sewing and unpicking and sewing and unpicking till you are satisfied with your end product.

This doesn’t mean I have given up on the challenge I set myself at the start of the year, I’m not a quitter. However, I’ve decided that while I will try to reach my target I will at the same time work on my fundamentals and workmanship. More importantly it’s to also conquer my fears and document my journey.

The Serger/Overlocker

I have known this machine as the Overlocker in my home and just got acquainted with it’s other name (the serger) recently. So WHAT is a serger? A serger sews over 1 or 2 pieces of clothing for hemming or seaming purposes so that the cloth doesn’t fray. Sounds fairly simple? Then WHY is it my fear? That’s because of the fact that while it serge, it also cuts off fabric from the edge hence without concentration or steady hands in guiding the cloth through the serger, it could jolly cut off more than needed. Also, the serger to me is actually very complicated to maneuver around especially when you need to change the various bolts of thread. So all along, I’ve had the good fortune in getting some help with the serging but I have decided it is time for me to meet this fear head on and so last weekend I took the step of faith and serged my pieces of cloth. Thank god, I didn’t have any hiccups so I’m pretty proud of myself. 🙂 Next would be to learn how to maneuver around this machine! One step at a time.

BLE1AT2_1_med

This is the serger I use at home, it’s a Babylock (Imagine). Photo credits to Babylock’s website.

I love looking at old sewing machine, there is also a history behind each sewing machine.

8ac6ac2a1f32e57492e1365f93c4f035

I’ll continue to conquer my fears and I’ll write about them. For fellow Singaporeans, the haze has gotten pretty bad in the past few days, do try to stay at home (means more sewing time. yay!) and drink more water.

One thought on “Why are Sergers scary?

  1. Pingback: Sewing Fears of a Beginner | Ade Says

Leave a Reply

